Lea Primary Logo

Lea Primary School

Learning, Enjoying, Achieving


Personal, Social and Health Education (PSHE) and Spiritual, Moral, Social and Cultural (SMSC)


Mrs Maycock and Miss Hill lead the PSHE and SMSC curriculum.  We have adopted the Derbyshire 'PSHE Matters Scheme and use this alongside Kings, Princesses, Ducks and Penguins - a resource from Derbyshire LGBT.


Personal, Social and Health Education (PSHE) is central to giving pupils the knowledge, skills and understanding they need to lead confident, healthy and independent lives and to become informed, active and responsible British Citizens.  PSHE enables students to understand and respect our common humanity; its diversity and its differences so that they can go on to form effective, fulfilling relationships that are an essential part of life and learning.


Safeguarding is a key element of PSHE as pupils learn about their own identity, risks, decision-making and how to keep themselves safe.


PSHE helps pupils to learn to recognise their own value, work well with others and become increasingly responsible for their own learning.  They can reflect on their experiences and understand how they are developing personally and socially, tackling many of the spiritual, moral, social and cultural issues that are part of growing up.


PSHE doesn't just exists within the curriculum.  The wide range of activities and experiences that school offer beyond the curriculum in which pupils contribute to their school life and community are a key part of PSHE.  For truly effective PSHE, the whole school ethos will support the curriculum and principles.


The PSHE Modules:

The PSHE Modules are constructed around 3 age groups:

Key Stage 1                (Years 1 and 2)

Lower Key Stage 2     (Years 3 and 4)

Upper Key Stage 2     (Years 5 and 6)


Within each group there are 12 learning modules that could be taught in any order over a two-year period.


The 12 modules are:

1.    Drug Education - including how to manage risk and peer influences

2.    Exploring Emotions - including how to recognise and manage feelings and emotions

3.    Being Healthy - including the importance of looking after our mental health

4.    Growing up - including the Sex Education element

5.    Changes - including loss

6.    Bullying Matters - including how to ask for help

7.    Being Me - including identity and community

8.    Differences and Diversity - including challenging stereotypes
9.    Being Responsible - including looking after the environment

10.  Being Safe - particularly featuring cyber, gaming and CSE

11.  Relationships - including what is a healthy relationship

12.  Money Matters - including enterprise.